Chocolate is an object of desire not only for children, but also for adults. Due to its unique taste, proven effect on mood improvement, energy increase and elimination of fatigue, it is one of the products consumed regularly. In recent years, there have also been many positive opinions of the medical community about chocolate, which is attributed to numerous pro-health properties, including reducing the risk of a heart attack, preventing blood vessel blockages and neutralizing the action of the so-called bad cholesterol. However, is chocolate safe for people on a gluten-free diet?
The composition of traditional chocolate does not indicate the presence of gluten dangerous for people allergic to this type of protein or suffering from celiac disease. Gluten does not contain the basic products from which chocolate is made, i.e. cocoa mass, cocoa butter, traditional milk or powdered milk used in the production of milk chocolates. This means that dark, milk and dried chocolates should be harmless to people with gluten intolerance. In fact, traditional chocolate may contain small amounts of gluten, which can be dangerous for people with celiac disease. Chocolate is usually produced in large halls, where the simplest types of chocolate are simultaneously produced, such as milk, dark or white, as well as those containing additives in the form of cookies, wafers, crisps or sprinkles made of cereal grains containing gluten. This may result in contamination of traditional chocolate with small amounts of gluten, which the manufacturer should indicate on the product label. In addition, gluten may be present in the emulsifiers and flavorings of the chocolate product. Therefore, people with gluten intolerance should read the ingredients carefully when reaching for chocolate on the store shelf, and gluten-free chocolate is the best choice for them.
Remember that even if traditional chocolate does not contain products that may contain gluten, people with celiac disease or hypersensitivity to gluten are recommended for certified gluten-free chocolate products, produced in conditions that meet the standards for gluten-free food production.
To meet the needs of people with gluten intolerance, we have created gluten-free chocolate. Both dark, milk and white chocolate lovers will find something for themselves among our gluten-free products.
Cocoa beans appeared in Europe after the discovery of America by Christopher Columbus. However, the Spaniards could not use their […]
Chocolate is not only a treat that is delicious in itself. It can also be used in various ways as […]
Congenital and acquired food intolerances are becoming an increasingly common condition that is usually associated with radical dietary changes. People […]