Although cocoa seeds were already used by the Maya, the first bar of chocolate was not created until the beginning of the 19th century. Since then, chocolate has been one of the most popular sweets. What secrets does it hide? We present the most frequently asked questions.
People intolerant to gluten will be pleased that both gluten-containing and gluten-free chocolates are available on the market. The gluten-free chocolate is marked with a special logo for easy identification. The good news is that many of the chocolates produced today are gluten-free.
Another common disease is lactose intolerance. While in the case of classic black chocolates it is not a problem, the consumption of regular milk chocolate can already lead to discomfort. For this reason, lactose-free chocolate was created with safe, dehydrated, lactose-free milk.
Vegan products have to meet many requirements. Not only can they not contain animal products such as milk, but also in the process of their production, no such products can be used. One of the additives used in chocolate, however, is sugar. If it is cane sugar, it is often processed in the form of bleaching, which uses bone charcoal obtained from defatted animal bones. However, there are products that contain untreated sugar or have other sweeteners – for example, evaporated coconut flower nectar. Then vegan chocolate is created, which is of course recommended not only to vegans. Due to the use of only plant products, it is a much healthier alternative to traditional chocolate.
The appropriate way of storing each food product is crucial, as it is responsible for maintaining the highest taste qualities. Remember that chocolate is very sensitive to both high temperatures and its changes. Therefore, it is best if it will be stored in conditions where there is a constant temperature of a dozen or so degrees, and the chocolate itself does not come into contact with moisture. If the chocolate is stored at too high a temperature or for a long time, a white coating may appear on the surface of the chocolate. This is a natural consequence of transferring the fats contained in chocolate to its surface, and then their re-crystallization as the product cools down.
Chocolate is loved all over the world, therefore it raises many questions and doubts. It is worth remembering that chocolate should be stored at a constant temperature, and both gluten intolerant and allergy sufferers will find a suitable variety. People who do not eat animal products should pay special attention to vegan chocolates. This healthy chocolate, rich in polyunsaturated fatty acids, is gaining popularity not only among vegans due to its properties.
We know classic chocolate very well. Shop shelves almost bend under bars of milk, dark and white chocolate, with nuts […]
Chocolate is not only a treat that is delicious in itself. It can also be used in various ways as […]
Chocolate is often associated with a product that should be one of the first to be removed from the diet. […]